How did we grow?

The Australian Feldenkrais Guild (AFG) was constituted in 1986. From 1986-1995 Training Policy was organised as a portfolio of AFG. NATAB accredited trainings in the Australasian region until the Australasian Training and Accreditation Board (AusTAB) was constituted as a standing committee of the Australian Feldenkrais Guild in 1995.
NATAB continued to mentor AusTAB until 1997.

Member countries consisted initially of Australia and New Zealand.

Australia commenced Trainings FPTPs in 1986.  This was closely followed by New Zealand commencing trainings in 1992.

Interest in the Feldenkrais Method has grown in other countries in the region.  There are now 6 member countries hosting FPTPs.

From 1986 to 2023 over 55 FPTPs have been hosted in Australasia.

© International Feldenkrais® Federation Archive, Bob Knighton

Member Countries

1986 – Australia commenced 1st FPTP in September, Sydney 1.

1992 – New Zealand commenced 1st FPTP in February, NZ1.

1995 – New Zealand Guild formed and joined AusTAB. Previously trainings were accredited by NATAB.

2016 – Taiwan commenced Trainings accredited by AusTAB.

2017 – Japan Feldenkrais Association joined AusTAB and commenced Trainings accredited by AusTAB, Japan 2.  Previously trainings were accredited by NATAB.

2017- Korea commenced Trainings accredited by AusTAB.

2018 – China commenced Trainings accredited by AusTAB.

2023 – Taiwan Feldenkrais Education Association formed.

Growth in Australasia

From 1986 to 2002, Educational Directors and Trainers for FPTP in Australasia were drawn from the international community.

By 2023,

  • 55 FPTPs had been accredited in the Australasian region.
  • 4 Australian Trainers have been accredited, across 4 states. Julie Peck was the first Trainer in Australia (2003), followed by Stephanie Spink (2010), Susan Hillier (2012) and Zoran Kovich (2013).
  • All four Trainers have gone on to become Educational Directors of training programs in Australasia.
  • over 25 Assistant Trainers in Australia, New Zealand, and Japan have been accredited.
  • These locally trained educational staff continue to contribute to the growth of trainings in each country in the region.